

10th April 2016

Podium Caps and cash prizes for Dunlop teams at Le Mans

Dunlop-shod Team April Moto Motors Events took second place at the FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC) 24 Heures Moto race at Le Mans. In the Endurance World Cup Superstock class, AM Moto Racing Competition finished second followed by fellow-Dunlop squad Völpker NRT48 by Schubert Motors.

Team R2CL finished fourth, and like fellow Suzuki squad Team April Moto, used commercially available Dunlop tyres to achieve their 24 hour feat. What's more, Lucas Mahias from Team R2CL set the fastest lap of the race on the standard KR106/KR108 combination. Mahias is no stranger to Dunlop tyres on which he claimed the French Supersport Championship in 2014 by taking every pole position, fastest lap and race win that year.

Dunlop's three partner teams each suffered from issues. GMT94 Yamaha retired following accident damage but Honda Endurance Racing was able to persevere following extended works to resolve a technical issue, climbing back up to 19th. One of the best rides of the race, however, must have been for reigning champions Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (SERT) who dropped to 54th in the second hour after an early race crash and repairs. SERT gradually climbed back up the timing screens during the remaining 22 hours, finishing fifth.

Dunlop Independent Team Trophy

The race was the first event in the Dunlop Independent Trophy competition with cash prizes available to registered independent competitors. The top three prizes



were claimed by AM Moto (Suzuki), Völpker NRT48 (BMW) and Racing Team Sarazin (Kawasaki).

Dunlop Le Mans Statistics

- 7 finishing teams in top 10
- 3 EWC finishers in top 5
- 8 Dunlop Superstock teams in top 10
- 27 teams crossed the line from 34 starters
- Manufacturer breakdown: Suzuki 12, Kawasaki 12, Yamaha 3, Honda 3,
 BMW 1, Mettiss 1
- Class breakdown: 7 EWC, 26 Superstock, 1 Open
- Fastest race lap: Lucas Mahias R2CL (1'38.448 153.0 kph)

Roland Wozniak, International Event Manager, Dunlop Motorsport

"Of course we would always like to win but our teams have scored good championship points this weekend. We have had a lot of very good feedback from the teams and riders about the tyre performance which is always good to hear. It is also great to see the Dunlop Independent Trophy attracting teams to the series and AM Moto were worthy winners of the top prize here today. The key in endurance racing is to avoid problems and that is how they did exactly that."



-ends-

For more information on Dunlop Europe, visit www.dunlop.eu or follow us on Twitter @DunlopMoto

About Dunlop Europe

Dunlop Europe is one of the world's leading manufacturers of high and ultra high performance tyres with an impressive track record of motor sport successes. Dunlop Europe is the Official tyre supplier to the FIM Moto2 and Moto3 World Championship.

Dunlop Europe's extensive racing experience has led to innovative technologies for tyres designed for everyday riding.

Dunlop Europe tyres were on the bike that won the first 500cc championship for motorcycles in 1949 and dominated the series through the following decades. In 1991 a bike on Dunlop Europe tyres won the first of three consecutive World Superbike titles and in 2008 Marco Simoncelli took Dunlop Europe's 200th consecutive 250cc GP win, a series in which Dunlop Europe claimed 17 World Championships. 2010 saw Dunlop Europe become sole tyre supplier to Moto2 with Moto3 following in 2012 and the partnership with Dorna to continue supplying the two main MotoGP support races was renewed for 2015 onwards.

Endurance racing has been dominated by Dunlop Europe teams and riders, with ten Endurance World Championship titles out of twelve since 2002 accrued while each of John McGuinness' Isle of Man TT wins were on Dunlop Europe tyres. Dunlop Europe has won every major motorcycle accolade going – from GP World Championships to the Isle of Man TT, from World Superbike and Supersport to World Endurance, with similar across-the-board success in motocross and other offroad championships.

